Chemo #2

Yesterday was pretty uneventful. I already knew what to expect. The only new bit of info was my white blood cell count. It tanked after my first treatment. A normal level is 1000, mine was 90. Due to this, I got sent home with an alien on my arm. It is a little device that injects Neulasta into my arm 27 hours after my chemo treatment. Neulasta is the drug that stimulates your bone marrow to produce more white blood cells. It is also going to cause a lot of bone pain in the coming week. I can’t wait. When they put it on, it beeped for three minutes then sounded like a toy gun when it stabbed me. I made Thomas hold my hand and it make me jump but it didn’t really hurt.

          Screen Shot 2016-08-20 at 11.26.16 AM.png

My port also wasn’t working very well yesterday again. Finally the nurse discovered that if I was laying flat on my back they could get a good blood return. Who would have know? Thomas had the week off because of our Seattle trip so he got to come to this one. His first experience at a chemo and I also had a surprise visitor. My oldest brother, Christian.

I felt pretty good when I got home until a few hours later when I was leaned over a trash can ready to throw up. Never did though. Sleep is my best friend in these situations. If I can sleep through the yucky stuff I will be ok.

Leave a Reply

