Updates.

In an attempt to not have to repeat this 100 times, here is my update post. I have now had five treatments. It feels like all of this has been going on forever at this point with no end in sight.

Friday September 30th I had my second PET scan. Those results came back saying that all of my tumors have shrunk to about half the size they were. Which is good news but I still have a long ways to go. This past Friday while at the doctor for my treatment, my oncologist informed me that I will for sure be doing radiation (every day for three weeks) after I finish chemo which could still go up to twelve treatments. The real bad news I got on Friday was how low my white blood cell count was. Which meant one thing: I had to do Neulasta again. If you have been keeping up with my blog, you know how bad of a reaction I had to this drug last time. The difference this time is I have THREE midterms this week. Which fills me with a sense of dread. It is so hard to not feel discouraged.

I met a woman on Friday in the waiting room who once battled breast cancer and was in remission for five years and one month. Then they found her cancer has metastasized to her liver. She has been doing chemo for two years every three weeks and likely will for the rest of her life. She still works full time and goes snow skiing and goes wherever the wind takes her. I have so much respect for her.

Leave a Reply

